Now that I’m a member of the 30-something crowd, I thought it would be a good time to do a mid-year review of all the goals I set for myself in 2013. So here goes:

1. Create an inviting office space. Right now, my office is a fancy way of describing a storage closet. I don’t ever want to work in that room. Instead, I’d rather work on the couch or the kitchen table, which isn’t ideal. One of the first things that I’ve got to do this year is setup the office so that I’ll actually want to work in it and use that room.

Check. Well, almost check. Earlier this year, I rearranged my office space and I’m super happy with the results. I think the biggest improvement was moving my file cabinet, color coding my bookcase, and (of course) clean up all the miscellaneous junk that I had been storing on the floor over the last year.

20130812-121828.jpg

20130812-122426.jpg

The only thing that keeps this from being a full check, is that freakin pinboard that I made, but still need to hang. There it is. Still. Sitting. On. The. Floor. Wonk, wonk, wonk….

20130812-123947.jpg

2. Create a cleaning system and station for the house. I saw this in her magazine, and was very jealous. Martha Stewart has a room dedicated to cleaning. It’s where she keeps all her supplies and has a dedicated space for fixing things around the house. While I don’t space to dedicate a room to this, I like the way she thinks and want to create a better system that will make it easier for me to keep my house clean.

Nope. Not even close.

3. Grow some of my own food. I tried my hand at indoor/balcony gardening. The basil plant I bought from Safeway survived several months, but it’s time to buy a new plant and start over. The olive tree that DL got form work is still alive but no signs of any olives yet. The other plant I have are either not flowering or dead. In 2013, I want to try my hand at raising a lemon tree, a cherry tomato plant and planting flowers in my balcony. I also want to get our backyard done so we can actually use it.

Check and check. I currently have an herb garden in my balcony, two lemon tree, two cherry tomato plants, and an olive tree with real olives. And what’s even more exciting: work is starting on our backyard this week! Woo-wee!

20130812-125023.jpg

3. Hang photos and art around the house. Our walls are pretty barren and part of the reason is because I have a hard time making decisions about the art we should hang around the house. But I have dreams of hanging some wall paper, more pictures and actual art. If we can get this done, then we’re getting some where.

My walls are still bare, but if it’s any consolation, I know what I want to put on them. My favorites right now are the travel photography of Irene Suchocki. She’s most famous for her “Paris is a Feeling” photo which is licensed for a ton of products. I especially love her travel wanderlust photos — it’s especially cool to note that she’s travelled to many places where we’ve been or plan to go. I have a ton of her prints in my Etsy cart, I just can’t make a final decision just yet.

4. Start Family Yearbook Series. DL and I are only 1.5 years into our marriage, so it’s still early to start this tradition without getting too behind. I want to start documenting our life together and the things we do each year in photo books. But first things first, I need to finish this wedding photo album.

This really needs to happen this year before I’m two plus years behind. Ugh.

5. Plan my dream trip to Europe and go. Like my wedding, this trip of a lifetime is something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time and will take a lot of careful planning in order to do it right. The planing starts now and there’s no time to waste….like actually asking for the time off once my boss is back from his “vacation.”

Consider this goal, halfway there. In May, DL and I made our first trip to Europe….while it wasn’t the hit 20 countries in one shot trip that I had imagined, visiting London and Paris was still magical and amazing. But why is this half way? Well, we’re going back in November to see Rome, Florence and Venice. Let’s just say, two two-week vacations a year is more acceptable at work than one three-week vacation.

6. Integrate fitness into my daily life. Let’s face it. I’ve never been very excited to exercise and the current state of my health (getting over a cold) is not making me any more motivated. But really, I’m at an age where things can and will go downhill fast. I need to take care of my health before this becomes a super hurdle to overcome.

I had a good start at the beginning of the year, but let’s just say an “injury” sidelined my efforts. Granted, I was already slowing down my workouts way before I really couldn’t do anything. But still, the roadblock didn’t help.

Needless to say, I did not fulfill my sorta pipe dream to run a half-marthon like every other 30-something I know, but I did run/walk a 10K. While I did more walking than running, that felt tough enough already especially when it was done under the blazing hot sun in the desert land known as Davis. Yes, this was the Moo-Light Run. But at what felt like 100 degrees and plenty of sunlight, this was a tough course…even for the more experienced runners. Here’s me after two miles.

20130812-131510.jpg

But in a few weeks, I’m going to jumpstart this effort again. Let’s see how round 2 goes.

7. Watch a little less TV on the weekends, and go explore the SF Bay Area more. I like this list, 7×7′s 100 Things To Do In SF Before You Die, and I’d like to try to cross off more things off it. And really, with some of the free tickets that I got from my friend to the SF Zoo and Academy of Science, there really isn’t an excuse not to go.

Not bad, not bad. DL and I have been crossing off our verbal SF Bay Area Bucket List…slowly but surely. Some of the notable notables include: (1) SF Zoo, (2) Academy of Science, (3) Japanese Tea Garden, (4) Biking Across Golden Gate Bridge,

8. Enjoy the last year of my twenties. Cross off more items from my bucket list and try to complete 60% of Marc and Angel’s 70 Things To Do Before You Have Kids. Well, you’re only young once and while it’s not really my last change for a crazy experience and adventure, it sure feels like it.

My 20s are over, but I don’t have kids yet….so there’s still time. Right now, I’ve crossed or sorta-crossed off 50 of these “crazy adventures” off my list. Six months ago I got 30 out of 70. Now, I’m 50 out of 70. But to be honest, some are legitimately crossed off and some are ones that I’ve fudge a little…just knowing me and what I’d be willing to spend my money and time to do.

9. Send out holiday cards at the start of the holiday season. If I can accomplish this in early December, then I know I’ve got my shit together in 2013 if I can pull this off. This year, I sent my cards out today (New Year’s Eve), which means my cards will arrive sometime in the new year. Ugh.

It’s August. It’s too soon to start thinking about this. Not interested in checking this off yet.

