Tags

643967_10101652102799553_1885234496_n

I think this is the year that I stop trying to match up the number of goals that I set for myself with the year. I had enough trouble with 12, no need to try to set myself up to fail 50 one day. This is also the year that I’m going to attach a general theme with my goals, and that theme is: efficiency.

Right now, the best way to describe my life is: messy. I have a lot of things go for me, but it’s all done in a rather haphazard, or need to pull teeth to get it done way. I think a lot of this has to do with my environment and my system for doing things.

  1. Create an inviting office space. Right now, my office is a fancy way of describing a storage closet. I don’t ever want to work in that room. Instead, I’d rather work on the couch or the kitchen table, which isn’t ideal. One of the first things that I’ve got to do this year is setup the office so that I’ll actually want to work in it and use that room.
  2. Create a cleaning system and station for the house. I saw this in her magazine, and was very jealous. Martha Stewart has a room dedicated to cleaning. It’s where she keeps all her supplies and has a dedicated space for fixing things around the house. While I don’t space to dedicate a room to this, I like the way she thinks and want to create a better system that will make it easier for me to keep my house clean.
  3. Grow some of my own food. I tried my hand at indoor/balcony gardening. The basil plant I bought from Safeway survived several months, but it’s time to buy a new plant and start over. The olive tree that DL got form work is still alive but no signs of any olives yet. The other plant I have are either not flowering or dead. In 2013, I want to try my hand at raising a lemon tree, a cherry tomato plant and planting flowers in my balcony. I also want to get our backyard done so we can actually use it.
  4. Hang photos and art around the house. Our walls are pretty barren and part of the reason is because I have a hard time making decisions about the art we should hang around the house. But I have dreams of hanging some wall paper, more pictures and actual art. If we can get this done, then we’re getting some where.
  5. Start Family Yearbook Series. DL and I are only 1.5 years into our marriage, so it’s still early to start this tradition without getting too behind. I want to start documenting our life together and the things we do each year in photo books. But first things first, I need to finish this wedding photo album.
  6. Plan my dream trip to Europe and go. Like my wedding, this trip of a lifetime is something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time and will take a lot of careful planning in order to do it right. The planing starts now and there’s no time to waste….like actually asking for the time off once my boss is back from his “vacation.”
  7. Integrate fitness into my daily life. Let’s face it. I’ve never been very excited to exercise and the current state of my health (getting over a cold) is not making me any more motivated. But really, I’m at an age where things can and will go downhill fast. I need to take care of my health before this becomes a super hurdle to overcome.
  8. Watch a little less TV on the weekends, and go explore the SF Bay Area more. I like this list, 7×7’s 100 Things To Do In SF Before You Die, and I’d like to try to cross off more things off it. And really, with some of the free tickets that I got from my friend to the SF Zoo and Academy of Science, there really isn’t an excuse not to go.
  9. Enjoy the last year of my twenties. Cross off more items from my bucket list and try to complete 60% of Marc and Angel’s 70 Things To Do Before You Have Kids. Well, you’re only young once and while it’s not really my last change for a crazy experience and adventure, it sure feels like it.
  10. Send out holiday cards at the start of the holiday season. If I can accomplish this in early December, then I know I’ve got my shit together in 2013 if I can pull this off. This year, I sent my cards out today (New Year’s Eve), which means my cards will arrive sometime in the new year. Ugh.
