Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

After evaluating my 11 goals for 2011, I’ve realized that I really need to work on following through with these “resolutions” as I’ve really only completed 2 out of 10 goals. Everything else was either a “nice try” or “epic failure.”

So here’s the game plan for the new year. But instead of just a list of different goals, I’m  setting specific metrics that will determine whether or not I am successful at the end of the year.

  • Keep myself accountable – At work, there’s a big emphasis on setting goals, tracking how you did and evaluating what was winning and what was an epic failure. I think that in order to be more successful this year, I’m just going to have to take work home and make myself more accountable and keep better tabs on how I’m doing outside of work. Metric: Write 1 blog post x month to evaluate how I’m doing on each of these goals.
  • Live long and thrive – I don’t have a big event (like a wedding) that I need to look good for; however, my sloth-like ways have got to stop. I probably won’t undergo another round of the South Beach diet, but I do want to make a concerted effort to improve my health and fitness. Where I’ll be living soon is a little gym. My goal is to go almost every day and do something for more than 15 minutes. (Don’t worry, I figure out a more structured workout plan for but for now, this is my goal….just get out of the house). Metric: Do some form of physical activity (walking to work/home and from the bus/train does not count) for at least an hour, 3 x week.
  • Budget like a rock star – In case you haven’t heard, I have a mortgage now. This means that DL and I really need to get our finances in tip-top shape. I’m going to track every expense and every penny saved starting January 1 once I get my Excel spreadsheet back into shape. Metric: Update my spreadsheet daily. Success will be measured by not having to back track and figure out what I spent/saved in previous months.
  • Organize & clean – Now that we have a house, DL and I have more space but that means we need to really make an effort to keep it clean and organized. Metric: Clean my house 1 x week; Success will be measured by how clean my house is.
  • Organize and scan photos – I need to pick up where I left off last year and organize all my family photos digitally. Metric: I have no idea how many photos I have in boxes, but the goal is to have everything scanned and sorted by the end of 2012. An added bonus will be creating our wedding and engagement photo books and sending out photo holiday cards.
  • Read more – I’m still not an avid reader, but think there are definite a good list of 30 book that I should read in the next two years. Metric: Read and finish 1 new book every two months.
  • Make more – Maybe with a new house, I will make time to take craft. I miss this old hobby of mine but finding time to finish unfinished projects is tough. I need to figure this one out and get out of my rut. Metric: It doesn’t matter what I make, but I want to make finish 1 project a month and blog about it.
  • Work Smarter – A few weeks ago, I did an exercise at work where I pretty much told my life story to my co-workers. After listening to my story, my boss pointed something out…something that I know to be true but haven’t really addressed in a big way. I have a long history of going hung ho with school or work and then burning out (usually within a 1-2 years). This usually manifests itself in sloppy mistakes, lack of motivation and a lot of naps. I need to curb this patter by having better balance in my life and working smarter, not harder. Metric: This goal is hard to measure so I’ll just have to evaluate based on how I’m feeling about work and life each month. If I am lethargic at home, it’s a bad sign. If I am suddenly a ray of sunshine everywhere I go, then I must be doing something right.
  • Travel – I am not getting any younger and there are a number of not-places-where-you-want-to-travel-with-kids that are on my travel bucket list. Now that I have unlimited PTO (with manager okay), I want to take advantage and do some much-needed traveling. Metric: Cross off at least two locations from my travel bucket list this year.
  • Learn A New Skill – I’ve been toying with a number of things that I want to learn/relearn – whether it’s a new language, musical instrument, dance or combat – this is the year that I want to make this happen. Metric: Cross off at least one accomplishment or language from my bucket list.

  • Cook More – I am by no means a great cook. Most of the food that I make is hit or miss, but what I would like to do is learn a few new recipes this year.Metric: One of DL’s and my favorite restaurants is Thomas Keller’s AdHoc in Yountville, CA. My cousin gave us the official cookbook (along with the official French Laundry cookbook in a set). We’re going to try and make everything in this book by the end of the year and blog about it. Yea, yea, I know. I’m taking a page from Julie & Julia…so what.

 

