Tags

, , , ,

After evaluating my 10 goals for 2010 (oh boy, just realized that I’m going to need to cap the number of goals I set each year at some point), here’s the game plan for the new year. The first six are continuation of any in-progress goals from 2010, while the latter five are new.

  1. Become a better blogger – Since I’m well aware that trying to post daily is like asking for the moon (especially since my enthusiasm for blogging comes and goes), my goal is to blog about something at least once a week. Here goes nothing…hopefully, I can call myself a wedding blogger by the time I tie the knot.
  2. Live long and thrive – Unlike previous years, I have a hard deadline for getting in shape and looking good. Come July 2, I need to drop another 5-10 pounds to make weight. No excuses. That said, I’m going to leave “keeping the weight off” afterwards as a big maybe. It would be nice, but no pressure…make no mistake, I’m going to eat on my wedding day and honeymoon.
  3. A pirate’s life for me – Maybe I’ll get to this in the months following the wedding, but obviously not a high priority right now. Eventually, one day, I will rebuild my digital music collection once and for all.
  4. Budget like a rock star – Starting January 1, 2011, I’m going to track every expense and every penny saved on my newly fine-tuned budgeting/personal finance spreadsheet on Excel. If I can keep this up month after month, then I’m going to give myself a big pat on the back this time next year.
  5. Organize & clean – Being okay with living in a messy room with two cats has got to change. Somehow, someway, I’m going to become a neat freak with an immaculate room…of course, this will be easier said than done.
  6. Project photo sort – DL and I need these photos for the wedding slide show. As noted in my recap, we just bought a scanner so this project should be underway soon. My job will be to sort. DL will be tasked with scanning and sorting the files. Oy!
  7. Read more – I’m not an avid reader. Currently, my favorite reading materials consist of Google News and Wikipedia. So in 2011, I’m going to try to read more newspapers (before they’re gone) and more books. First things first, I need to find a good list of books.
  8. Make more – Maybe the wedding is a good excuse to start crafting again, or maybe it’s a horrible mistake. Either way, I want to take up crocheting, sewing and knitting again. I have massive boxes of yarn and cloth that’s begging to be used.
  9. Kick ass and take names – Having just taken on a new job this month, my objective will be to surpass any and all goals that I set for myself or are set for me. To quote Spiderman’s Uncle Ben, “With great power, comes great responsibilities” so I need to do a good job. Period.
  10. Get Married On my life list, two of my to-dos is to (a) get married and (b) plan a well-organized, budgeted, kick-ass wedding. I have every intention of fulfilling these goals long before the end of the year.
  11. Travel – DL and I haven’t decided on where to go for our honeymoon yet, but believe you me, it’s going to be one of the locations on my bucket list of places to go. Right now, we’re looking at continents in the southern hemisphere: South America, Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific Islands.

 

