Tags

, , , ,

[Where in the world should we go for the honeymoon?]

On the drive back home from my cousin’s Chinese wedding banquet, my other cousin (a guy, not the one who got married), his girlfriend (who’s my former college roommate) and I got into an interesting discussion about travel. It all started when I was asked where DL and I would go for our honeymoon.  I have “my ideas” and DL has “his ideas” on what we should do. Let’s just say we’re working to reach a consensus by this time next year.

Still, regardless of where we go, I’ve taken to heart the advice from my cousin and his girlfriend (FYI, both are hardcore travelers; one backpacked through Southeast Asia for six months with his buddy and the other spent a couple of months in South America to visit Manchu Picchu and the Galapagos Islands by herself). In a nutshell, the takeaway was: When you travel, it’s about the experience and not so much about checking off monuments from your list of things to see.

This advice got me seriously thinking (to the point where I went on hiatus from wedding planning) about my travel bucket list. Originally, I wrote out a list last year of places to go before I die. Then, it suddenly dawned on me that I need to reassess my list for places that I need to see before DL and I start a family. Why? Well, let’s just say, I had a horrific vision of traveling with kids. The crying, the whining, the bored looks, the attitude, the fights, the miscellaneous mishaps and the endless chorus of the “Are We There Yet” song. In other words, all the family trips I went on with my parents flashed before my eyes. Only this time, I was looking at myself (as my parents probably saw me). Good grief. I sure was annoying.

So in my moment of terror, I redrafted my list of places to go before I need to factor in the needs and wants of rugrats in tow. What do you think? I’m I missing anything?

  • Travel around the entire European continent (or at least most of it) by train
  • Visit the outskirts of China, which includes Tibet, Inner Mongolia, Xinjiang and Yunnan
  • Go on safari in South Africa
  • Vacation in a South Pacific island that isn’t part of the United States (I’m talking about you Hawaii)
  • See some of the Wonders of the World (e.g., Manchu Picchu, Taj Mahal, Great Pyramid of Giza, Petra, Colosseum, Christ the Redeemer)
