Tags

, ,

As of today, the clock starts ticking a little faster. Come next year – on July 2, 2011 – DL and I will playing door games, severing tea to the whole family, saying our vows to each other in front of everyone we know and eating a very, very large meal to celebrate our wedding. No doubt, it may be the longest day of our lives….literally.

Now, back to my second job as a project manager. The project, of course, being our wedding. We’re done with Phase 1: The Engagement, which entailed:

  • Finding & buying my engagement ring
  • Announcing our engagement to family & friends
  • Work with our parents to host an engagement party
  • Create my master plan, which includes our timeline and tactics

Now, we’re deep in the trenches of Phase 2: Plan & Book. This is the period where we set our date and hire most of my vendors. Here’s how we’re doing one year out:

  • Book Ceremony Venue
  • Book Banquet Restaurant
  • Determine Wedding Party (just need one more person on DL’s side and then we’re set)
  • Finalize Guest List (My side is done, DL is lagging in-progress)
  • Book Photographer
  • Book Videographer (We’ve narrowed down our candidates and will book soon)
  • Book Officiant (Need to formally ask this person)
  • Take Engagement Photos (The photo shoot will be on 8/13, we have a little more than a month to figure out the locations and props for this mini-project)
  • Book Florist (Haven’t even started…)
  • Book Stationary Maker (Meeting with one candidate – who specializes in bilingual invites – this weekend. Woot!)
  • Build Wedding Website (I’m working on this now, but it’s turning into quite a writing project)
  • Send Save The Dates (Once we take our engagement photos, we’ll be able to get this in the mail box)
  • Find My Dress, the BM Dress and Suits for the Menfolk (Oy! I’m almost dreading this project since I’ll need to coordinate 12 people’s schedules. What did I get myself into…)
  • Determine Wedding Colors (I have something in mind, but I’m trying to find and/or build an inspiration board to capture what I’d like to have for the look and feel)
  • Book Makeup Artist (I need this person for the engagement photo session and welcome any recommendations)
  • Research Entertainment Vendors e.g., DJ, Musicians and Photobooths (Working on this…but not a priority right now)
