Tags

, , ,

[Me, DL and our respective parents & future-in-laws]

Yea, yea, I know. It’s been a while. A month ago, I said I would start blogging again and end my post-engagement party hiatus. Okay, so I lied. My last post was May 22 and today is June 22.

While I would like to do a full recap of our engagement party with photos, I have yet to see any of the photos that our “photog” took. We’re at the six-week mark now with no word on the status of these photos. While it was very nice of DL’s friend to take these photos for us, it would be much more beneficial to me if I could see them. *Hint* *Hint* If you’re reading this, you know who you are.

So instead of a recap, here are  the party planning lessons that I learned:

  • My house has the capacity to host 100 plus guests, though not all at once.
  • NEVER order party food thinking that everyone will have at least one serving. You’d be surprised by how many people suddenly decide to start a crazy weight-loss diet the week before your shindig. Instead, order enough food for 50% of your guests to have at least one piece.
  • Although Gordon Biersch is known for their beers (and garlic fries), people seem to prefer Coronas, Heinkins and Blue Moons much better.
  • Do NOT put fake candles (the battery operated ones that have an on/off switch) next to real candles. Someone may actually try to light the fakes with a match. This individual knows who he is.
  • While fondant cakes may look awesome, they are a pain in the ass to cut. In fact, the cake may fall apart during the cutting process.
  • If and when a fondant cake falls apart when you try to cut it, do NOT assume that your pastry chef friend can come to the rescue. That’s career profiling. A crumbling cake is a crumbling cake and no one can stop it from tumbling.
  • Make sure trash cans are clearly labeled for trash and recyclable. On that note, make sure you have a team of people to clear the bins when they are full.
  • If you have a large family and your fiance does not. He/she can and will try to invite every high school and middle school friend they’ve ever made to help bolster their side of the party. It’s okay. The more the merrier. Just don’t be surprised when there’s a class reunion photo opp in your backyard.
  • If someone hasn’t called or emailed to RSVP, do NOT assume that they’re coming. You may have told them about the event, but the invite may have been lost in transit (which means they’ve forgotten about your party…that is until you call them on the day-of to see where they are).
  • If you want to make a “G” move, give your fiance 99 long stem roses in front of all her family and friends. Side note, 99 in Chinese means “forever.” Awe.

So why is it important to remember the lessons that you learn? Well, for one thing, my parents are throwing an engagement party for my bride war arch-rival (aka my cousin) next month. Let’s just say, my party was the test run. Get ready DK 2 and DL 2, you’re in for a big surprise. (Side Note: Yes, believe it or not, my cousin and her fiance have the same initials as me and my fiance. What a coincidence, aye?).

