Tags

, , , , , , ,


[Uber cute wedding amigurumi dolls from Simple Arts Planet in Singapore | Flickr]

Ever since we announced our engagement, the one question I dread the most is: “How did he propose?” Under normal circumstances, this would be a lovely story to tell – a romantic story that we can pass down to our children and their children though oral tradition. Unfortunately, our engagement was not scripted by a team of talented Hollywood writers.

So as I’ve said to everyone I know, “The story’s not that exciting.” There were no fireworks, no trail of roses, no surprise musical number in Disneyland. Heck, there wasn’t even a drop to one knee. Instead, getting engaged was a work-in-progress – a lot of blood, sweat and tears – which spanned over the course of several months, possibly even years (if you count our very first conversations about getting married). In many ways, it was an on going discussion about hopes, expectations and wants. For either of us, there was no element of surprise.

Long story short, DL and I decided to spend the rest of our lives together. Being incredibly picky, I researched and designed my ring (see part 1, part 2, part 3 and part 4 of that story). DL foot the bill. We officially got engaged on March 6, 2010 – the day we picked up my engagement ring from Chabos Jewelry.

Our conversation in the car, on the way to pick up my ring:

Me: “So, did you want to propose?”
DL: “What, you want me to take the ring back, hide it and then give it back to you? What if I wait until a couple of months before I give it to you? Can you wait that long?”
Me: “What do you mean two months?!?”

About two to three hours later, after the whole resizing ordeal (see part 4 of the Build A Ring series), I walk out of Chabos Jewelry with the ring on my finger…just thrilled that it finally fits, until I remember:

Me: “So did you still want to propose? I can give it back to you if you want.”
DL: “What’s the point? You’re already wearing it?!?”
Me: “Te-he-he-he”

After wards, like an old married couple, we went to Costco to buy a couple of hot dogs for lunch.


Got My Ring[Me showing off instead of eating my lunch]

Costco Hot Dog[I may get in trouble for posting this picture of DL]

NOTE: Since it’s been a few weeks and my memory is starting to fail me, there may have been some creative license in the conversation recaps pasted above.

Anyone else have a practical engagement – i.e., an uneventful proposal?

