Tags

, , , , , ,

Tiffany's box[Flickr | WriteMeg]

As you may recall, I fell in love with an engagement ring that does not exist.  Martha Stewart Weddings and Tiffany lied to me. Looking for that cushion cut diamond, set in a split shank setting lined with little bead set diamonds was like chasing a pipe dream. You see, after talking to so many Tiffany reps, it became very clear that this ring would not be available in the foreseeable future. Of course, if you read this post, maybe in 2015 or later, this ring just might be part of their regular collection by then.

To be honest though, I just wanted to see this ring in real life and try it on. Even if it were available, we probably wouldn’t go home with a little blue box. The little penny pitcher inside of me would have said, “Don’t even think about it, put it back, turn around and walk away.”

Knowing this, there was no way DL and I would hold off our engagement for a product launch. We (er..I) decided to bootleg recreate it with the help of a local jeweler. It wouldn’t be an exact replica, but there were definitely certain ingredients that were “must haves” for me:

  • Cushion Cut Diamond – A cushion cut diamond is basically a princess cut (i.e., square) with rounded edges. You could essentially call it a mutant hybrid between a round and square. Personally, I think cushions are very elegant and classic. I especially love how this antique cut goes with vintage styled rings.

  • Split Shank Setting – As much as I try to avoid being trendy, I like split shanks and split shanks are a top 2010 e-ring trend according to The Knot. I don’t know why, but I like the way this setting comes up and grabs the center stone. It just catches my eye so much better than single bands.

  • Bead Set – Often confused with the term “pave,” a bead setting is a technique for setting stones into metal using tiny prongs. Conversely, pave refers to the cobblestone pattern that’s often used to essentially pave metal with stones. I am a big fan of details, which is probably why I naturally gravitate toward the bead settings.

(Photo Credits: Giraux, Martha Stewart Weddings, Professional Jeweler)

