Tags

, ,

I don’t know about this one, or maybe I am not “Chinese” enough to appreciate it, but dressing up like red guards for your wedding photos?


[Photo via Meiguoxing/Flickr]

From what I’ve read, there is a lot of nostalgia for the Cultural Revolution among young people in China today. It’s gone to a new extreme that people are choosing to dress up in the green Mao coats, hats and little red books for themed shots in their studio wedding sessions.

If you’re unfamiliar with these studio wedding photos, they’re basically glamour shots where couples will dress up in different types of wedding attire including Western white wedding gowns, qipaos, kimonos, etc. A lot of money is spent on this while day-of photos are taking with regular cameras and plain-clothes engagement photos are not done.

I may do the Chinese style wedding studio shots, if I go back to China and I’m married or about to get married – it’s really not too expensive (compared to U.S. standards), but I think I’ll pass on the red guard shots. Any thoughts?

Share

