Tags

, , , ,

Natalie Dee
www.nataliedee.com

Ever since I got a cool book on knitting for beginners from my former roommate three Christmases ago, I have been trying to teach myself to knit. I commandeered my mom’s stash of needles, yarns and other miscellaneous knitting tools and started project after project, many of which remain incomplete. Why? Knitting is a hard craft to learn when you’ve been trained to crochet for most of your life. I won’t go into all the nitty-gritty details, but basically, I had such a hard time trying to maneuver two needles and made many mistakes along the way that I would give up, try again, give up and try again.

This week, I decided to try again. I am disassembling a crochet sweater that I tried to make for DL (see below for the back story on that fiasco), and am making a knit, sleeveless sweater for myself. This has become my commuter project. So far, so good. The right side of my brain is overjoyed that it’s being put to use, while the left side is enjoying the break. We’ll see how long this lasts…

Back-story on DL’s Sweater:
So last year, I decided to make a sweater for my boyfriend. It sounds sweet, but it was more of a sweat and tears project, if you ask me. After spending a few days on deciding whether to knit or crochet it (no doubt, knitting works much better for clothing; however, I just work faster with a crochet needle), I took the easy way out and choose crochet. This was the first of many critical mistakes in making this doomed project. Long story short, the almost-finished sweater weighs about 20lbs and the sleeves extend four inches form DL’s fingertips. After he tried it on the first time, I quickly came to terms with the fact that it looked horrible and that he would never wear it. So for about a year, it sat in my unfinished project pile. This is what I learned and what I hope to avoid this time around:

  1. Even if you find a pattern, don’t crochet sweaters. The finished product usually looks weird.
  2. Always check your gauge!
  3. Don’t knit during a heat wave. Your project will feel like blanket and you will be miserable.
  4. Measure as you go, not when the project is almost done!

Share

