Tags

, , ,

Natalie Deewww.nataliedee.com

As some of you may know, I’ll just got back from a two week vacation in Hong Kong and China. Yes, if you are wondering, it was a great trip. I’ll write more on that later, but first to the matter at hand.

I have been working on this New Year’s post for about a month now. Originally, I wanted to set my personal goals before crossing the pacific and saying goodbye to 2008. Needless to say, that did not happen. But with Obama taking office this week and Chinese New Year around the corner, it seems appropriate that I finish writing my resolutions now. Here they are:

  1. Create a life list (aka a list of things to do before I get married and have kids) – After reading the suggested list on Marc and Angel, I decided to create my own life list (more like a 5 year plan to get myself through the quarter life crisis I am having).
  2. Become a better blogger – True to form, after returning to agency life, I have become less and less inclined to blog. This is largely due to the fact that after spending 8-10 hours in front of a computer screen writing something, the last thing that I want to do when I go home is look at a laptop screen and blog. With the month(s) long gaps between posts, blogging has obviously taken a back seat to TV, the gym, dinner and my cats.  There must be a middle ground, where I can blog and have better work-life balance, and I aim to find it.
  3. Stay employed – 2006 and 2007 was the years of jumping ship and mass layoffs, respectively. My goal is to be happy with my working situation, excel & grow and stay employed for the whole year. Let’s just hope that fate doesn’t throw another curve ball my way, but if it does, c’est la vie.
  4. Live long and thrive – This doesn’t have anything to do with Kaiser Permanente, but it is related to my health and well being. It’s no secret that since graduation (2 years ago), I have adopted a very sedentary lifestyle and effects have slowly taken its toll. I did the unthinkable last month and joined a gym to counteract my downward spiral. Now comes the hard part – keep on going to the gym regularly and staying there long enough to actually get a work out.
  5. A pirate’s life for me – If I do nothing else this year, I sure hope that I put some effort in rebuilding my music collection. It’s been a two years since my last computer failure (which wiped out my entire C drive and everything near and dear to me on it). I think it’s time for me to start listening to my own music.
  6. Budget like a rock star – I used to work with a girl who used to work as an accountant for The Killers and other bands. While that would seem exciting, I should put some effort into managing my own personal fianances. Not that I am in debt or anything, but I should learn to be proactive about this stuff.
  7. Find a hobby or a social group – What I miss most about college is the social activities and clubs. I’ve been shopping for a professional group to join, but really, does everything have to be so work focused? It sure would be nice to find some thing else to do that I can commit to doing.
  8. Become an early riser – I have traditionally thrived and have done my best work at night. It’s not that I am just skilled at burning the midnight oil, I just prefer the silent and calmer environment. However, this lifestyle is not possible when you are a member of the 9am-5pm workforce. I am not 16 anymore and can’t operate with 5-6 hours of sleep, 5 out 7 days a week. Plus, the extra long naps on the weekends are just depleting my free time away from work. So to rectify all of this, I am hoping that this is the year that I turn myself into an early bird.
  9. Organize – While I don’t consider myself to be entirely disheveled and continually confused, I do think that I could do better at organizing my calendar, contacts, to-do lists and priorities. Maybe the processes from work are seeping into my personal life or maybe I am just nostalgic for better, more structured days.

Share

