Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today, I made a small step to become a “power user” of online social networking sites, namely Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Jobster. In the past, I have been a bit of a causal user, adding friends and colleagues as I find them. But today, I went a bit overboard.

LinkedIn – My profile is officially 100% complete, including photo and recommendations (big thanks to everyone who wrote something for me). I also went through my whole Rolodex to add every contact that I have ever had in the past three years. Not an incredible number, but its the most activity that I have ever had on LinkedIn since I opened the account in 2004.

Jobster – My profile is also 100% complete. Thanks Cousin V for giving me the heads up about Jobster. On one interesting note, I found one prospect through this site though it has yet to be determined whether it will be a good or bad prospect.

Twitter – Okay, so this one is probably going to be longest process ever since nobody (immediate to me) is on Twitter. Most have never even heard of Twitter. But I did add two new people that I will be following, a far cry from the thousands that I need to become a real power user. On a “budget” note, I probably will not be enabling my phone to receive “tweets” via text message…..I just can’t afford it right now.

Facebook – Nothing too unusual, but I did track down some old, old high school friends that have until now seemed to have disappeared off the face of the earth.

But despite my “accomplishments” today, I still have a long road ahead of me before I would even be considered a power user of any of these Web applications.

Share

