Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Call me superstitious, but I believe that life is continual cycle of good luck and bad luck. Thus, I believe that ever since my license plate was stolen, I have been in one hell of a personal recession. Now all I have to do is ride it out….one bad week at a time. May this new week be a happier week.

Over the weekend, I have spent a good chunk of lamenting (okay, more like obsessing while making multiple public announcements) about my coming unemployment this Thursday. It’s a rather dreary feeling, but what can you do, but vent and get it out of your system and get over it.

To help me “get over it,” I have devised a plan of action in true Daisy fashion (in case you didn’t know, I like to make plans…..following through all the time is a different story…heh.)

  • STEP 1: Update Resume (this includes my paper resume and LinkedIn profile)
  • STEP 2: Look for jobs to apply for and send out resume
  • STEP 3: Build a new, more “professional” web/blog profile to support resume (I have been researching this all weekend and I think the Web 2.0 thing to do in this market is to provide a professional Google-able presence on-line)
  • STEP 4: Social Networking (Ask my dear former colleague to say nice things about me on LinkedIn

Other non-job search items on my list include:

  • Reconnect with old friends: Have lunch with people that I haven’t seen or heard from in 3 plus years
  • Stop by and say “hello” to some old professors: Let’s just say that after “walking” two years ago, I have never walked back on campus
  • Local Sightseeing: After living in the Bay Area for so long, it’s time I actually enjoyed my scenery a bit
  • Join the Circus: www.circuscenter.org
  • Crafts: It’s high time that I too become an indie crafter

More to come later…..once I think of other things to do.

Share

