Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This weekend at Barnes and Noble, I think that I may have found my new favorite magazine, Craft: Transforming Traditional Crafts (www.craftzine.com).

Introducing CRAFT: The first project-based magazine dedicated to the renaissance that is occurring within the world of crafts. Celebrating the DIY spirit, CRAFT’s goal is to unite, inspire, inform and entertain a growing community of highly imaginative and resourceful people who are transforming traditional art and crafts with unconventional, unexpected and even renegade techniques, materials and tools; people who undertake amazing crafting projects in their homes and communities.

If only this “renaissance” in the world of crafts had happened 15 years ago when I was at my peak as a crafter (i.e. I was in elementary school and had all the time in the world to devote myself to glue guns, crochet needles and sewing machines as school work wasn’t that important to me at the time and work was a thing for grown ups to stress about). I suppose I might be thinking too much into it but I can’t help but wonder if I had Project Runway and all the other “hip” design/crafting resources at my finger tips as a child, rather than needing to dig hard and deep for teachers and pattern books that didn’t look fudy-dudy, if I would have gone a different route, career-wise……

Okay, enough of that.

What’s interesting about this relatively new magazine (launched in late 2006) is the sheer range of topics that count as a “craft.” In additional to typical crochet, sewing and gluing projects, there is a recipe for natto (fermented soy beans) and instructions on brewing your own beer. I guess that this might count as cooking, but it sure ain’t the cupcakes and candy on Family Circle.

When I first saw this magazine sitting there on the magazine stand, I thought that it would be another typical hipster crafter magazine, with “edgy” craft designs (personally, just sticking a skull and cross bone in the knitting pattern doesn’t really add much if the basic item still looks kinda fudy-dudy). What I found instead was a more intelligent publication. It has features about different crafters and crafting styles in addition to some really cool and off beat projects. The magazine is short and stocky, that uses a thicker paper with rough texture…..a nice change of pace from more typical crafting magazines (i.e. It feels like it’s of higher quality).

Though I don’t think that I’ll every return to my former glory as a crafter, crochet has definitely made a come back into my life. I am making my first piece of clothing that is not a scarf, a sweater….wish me luck. This may take me many, many days. At the same time, I have also discovered amigurumi. See below:

While I haven’t read through the whole magazine, I think I am sold on purchasing a subscription.

Share

